Installing a desktop on X?

When everything else fails and you need to ask for directions

Installing a desktop on X?

Postby sudo_with_a_bangbang » Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:07 pm

Hey gang! I am loving this Pixiepro but ran into an issue setting up a desktop. Rather than just communicate directly I figured it's better to post here and get some content in the forums.

So I setup the PixiePro with the latest Arch image on the downloads page. Thanks to tequilaguru's tips (hey TG!) I got a few more things working and am enjoying the device so far. Here is my issue:

I'm trying to install a desktop environment but ran into a problem where the xorg-server-PixiePro package conflicts with the regular xorg-server packages rather than satisfying the requirement for them. As a debian guy I'm not really up on how to bully Arch into accepting the PixiePro packages. I'll keep on fiddling with it to see if I can figure it out but wanted to ask in case anyone else figured this one out.

My minor issues are due to missing packages in the Arch arm repositories (like sysbench and htop) but that may not be too tough to work around and that really isn't PixiePro specific.

Other than that so far I am loving this sexy little board and can't wait to figure out enough Arch to really use it. :)
sudo_with_a_bangbang
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:58 pm

Re: Installing a desktop on X?

Postby tequilaguru » Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:18 pm

Howdyd sudo!

I will check on that soon, it should both "conflict" and "provide"

Conflict because you don't want both installed, but "providing" should satisfy other package requirements. Didn't pacman prompt to remove the conflicting package when you tried to install the PixiePro package?
tequilaguru
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:19 am

Re: Installing a desktop on X?

Postby tequilaguru » Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:42 pm

Also, try running
sudo pacman -Sy (this will update package databases)
sudo pacman -Su (this will update packages that have new versions)

I have htop installed, let me see if the precompiled package is available by I'm almost certain it is.

Try yaourt htop
tequilaguru
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:19 am

Re: Installing a desktop on X?

Postby sudo_with_a_bangbang » Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:57 am

Hey tequilaguru!

Nope, once again it was my fault. I had been screwing around and did something to the X stuff while doing things I knew better than to try. After a reimage everything installed just fine!

Graphical desktop is working a-ok! LXDE working just fine. VNC was working too.

Thanks for the tips about yaourt, that is some handy software. (Not sure where that accent mark came from).

Back to playing with my PixiePro!
sudo_with_a_bangbang
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:58 pm

Re: Installing a desktop on X?

Postby tequilaguru » Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:47 pm

Yay!, also, We are are working on 3D hardware accelerated desktop, it might take time but I think it's worth it, problem is, most desktops use full fledged OpenGL, whereas we need OpenGL ES

Plasma is accelerated as we speak, but it is cluttered (imho) and buggy (regarding OpenGL ES acceleration).
tequilaguru
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:19 am


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
cron